KINGSBOROUGH COMMUNITY COLLEGE: ENGLISH DEP'T ELECTIONS Terms to run from July 1, 2023 – June 30, 2026 Election Guide and Information Sheet

Department Chair

In the first election, you will elect your **department chair** for the next three years. Because the chair must be tenured, only the following individuals are eligible to serve as chair and may be nominated:

Anthony Alessandrini	Matthew Gartner	Christine Rudisel
Steven Amarnick	Janine Graziano	Sara Rutkowski
Rick Armstrong	Linda Holman	Emily Schnee
Robert Blaisdell	Rachel Ihara	Maria Scordaras
Jacqueline Brady	Gabrielle Kahn	Cheryl Smith
Lesley Broder	Amy Karp	Enid Stubin
Robert Cowan	Thomas Lavazzi	Julie Torrant
Ann Del Principe	Gene McQuillan	Tisha Ulmer
Elizabeth Dill	Mary Lynn Navarro	Red Washburn
Maureen Fadem	Hope Parisi	Sheri Weinstein
Lea Fridman	Frank Percaccio	Jane Weiss
Monica Filimon	*Bailin Song may vote but not run	Eben Wood

P&B Committee

In your **P&B election**, four P&B members must be elected. At least <u>three</u> of the P&B members must be tenured, so they must also come from the list above.

The last P&B member can be either untenured or tenured. This means that any of the voting department members can run for and win this final position. The untenured members who can run for this seat are:

Gregory Bruno	Patrick Hickey	Neil Kernis
Elroy Esdaille	Brian Katz	Carl Schlachte
Patricia George	John Keller	Joanna Stein
		Sheryl Williams

College Council

The final election is for your department's **College Council Representative**. Anyone present may run for and win this seat, except for your newly-elected Department Chair. This includes department Lecturers with CCE:

Deborah Anderson	Karlene Gooding	Karen Niles
Esther Gabay	Kevin Kolkmever	Jennifer Oliveri

The Magic Number and Run-Off Elections

In all of these elections, the winning candidates must receive at least <u>27 votes</u>, no matter how many department members are present at the election. If any election ends with no candidate reaching the 'magic number' of 27 votes, then another ballot will be held for that position. This ballot is between the same nominees – no new names are added – and they are each given the chance to withdraw if they choose. Up to five ballots will be held for the same position until there is a winner.

If no one reaches the 27-vote threshold after the fifth ballot, then the election is declared a deadlock. At this point the Bylaws give the decision-making authority to the College President, who will decide how to proceed.